RSS

I Can Handle It!

10 Jan
1 John 1:1 says, “That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we have looked upon, and our hands have handled, of the Word of life;

What an awesome verse… John here alludes to his eyewitness statut. That of which he speaks, he has witnessed personally. His witness pertains to the Word of life. 1 John, and awesome little book, and, one of the most misunderstood books in the Bible in my opinion, deals with fellowship with our Creator. Notice I did not say “relationship” but “fellowship”… there is a huge difference!

John, right off the bat, sets the tone by telling his readers that he has seen with his eyes and he has handled the Word of life. He has beautiful fellowship first hand with Jesus Christ. In the following verses (I would like to challenge you to read 1 John 1) the beloved disciple sends a message to his readers that they too can have intimate fellowship with Jesus. In the coming days, as I walk through 1 John on my own, I will post some of my thoughts on this book. For today, know that you can have wonderful fellowship with Jesus! We will discuss what to do when fellowship is broken and what it means to walk “in the light”.

Do you have a Bible? Do you read and study God’s Word? This, I believe, is where it all begins… As a matter of fact did not John say under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit in his gospel chapter one verse one, “In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word WAS God”? Every time I read those words I stand in awe that God allows me to open the sacred pages of His Word… I “handle the Word”. So… you can handle it! Start today by making it a regular routine in your life!

Blessings,

Jay

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “I Can Handle It!

  1. Christy

    June 25, 2010 at 5:13 am

    thank you for leading our kids in worship this week…we were able to drive up and attend 2 of the services and were truly blessed by the heart ALL of the worship leaders have for those wonderful kids…Thursday night was AWESOME!! <

     

Leave a Reply

 
